Cookbooks / Cookies / Recipes / Sweets Make It All Better / Uncategorized

Enemy Thy Name Is Cranberry

Oatmeal White Chocolate Cranberry cookies

Oatmeal White Chocolate Cranberry cookies

I made oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and dried cranberries this weekend for my son, Maine boy’s, lunches this week.

And in exchange for my efforts, Maineboy ate one and said, “you made cookies with my two worst things, oats and raisins.” Actually, they were dried cranberries but when you’re a finicky 8-year-old, every dried fruit is a raisin. He carried on about the cookies as if he was Superman and I had casually mentioned there was Kriptonite in the Kool-aid.

My husband, Maineguy, asked if the cookies were my way of trying to make friends with the local hippies. Maine is a fairly crunchy state, particularly our little coastal town. Not that there’s anything wrong with hippies. We’ve partied with hippies. We’ve camped with hippies. For goodness sake, my parents (I’m 42) were hippies back in the 60’s.

Anyway, the cookies were not a hit. I’m not sure why. I have made a variation of this cookie before and haven’t been terribly impressed. I think we just like something a little sweeter and chewier.

My notes: I increased the brown sugar a little and decreased a little the amount of oats because I wanted them to taste like cookies-not granola bars. I’ll probably make them again in a few years after I forget we weren’t that impressed with them.

Recipe adapted from “Very Merry Cookie Party” by Barbara Grunes and Virginia Van Vynckt

Oatmeal Cookies with White chocolate chips and Dried Cranberries

What you need:

2 cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
¼ tsp ground nutmeg
¼ tsp salt
1 cup (2 sticks) butter
¼ cup brown sugar (I used ½ cup)
2 large eggs
2 ½ cup quick cooking rolled oats (I used 2 cups)
1 cup white chocolate chips
½ cup dried cherries (I used dried cranberries)

Preheat over to 325 F. Grease cookie sheets

Whisk dry ingredients in a bowl, set aside

In a large bowl with an electric mixer, beat butter and sugar on medium speed two to three minutes. Beat in eggs, one at a time then beat in vanilla. On low speed, gradually beat in flour mixture. Stir in oats, chips and dried cherries/cranberries. (note, I used electric mixer for oats/chips/fruit). Mixture will be stiff.

Drop the dough by teaspoons onto a greased cookie sheet spaced about two inches apart.

Bake at 325 for about 12 to 15 minutes. Let cool on cookie sheet about two minutes.

Makes about 48 cookies

Leave a Reply

